Howdy! Elf Lover, Ahoy!

Howdy, I’m Tristan J Tarwater and I’m new to posting on Troll in the Corner, but not to gaming. I came across Troll in the Corner during my first few days on Twitter and I’ve been a fan ever since.

Gaming for me started back in the days of dial-up and chatrooms, when numerous Vash the Stampedes and Clouds argued over who won the latest brawl while less trademarked characters called for the ‘tender’ and acted out their own personal melodramas over glasses of whatever they could imagine. I played a lot of elves and did a brief stint at a vampire before I lost the internet and began concentrating on writing stories. Numerous journals were filled with purple-penned words, space stations, forests and graveyards the backdrops to my fluff-filled fantasies. I loved creating worlds and cultures and then making characters who then had to deal as individuals within those parameters. I still do.

In the early part of this millennium I was encouraged to take up dice and Handbook and add some crunch to my fluff and I am really glad that I did. RPGs are one of my favorite pastimes and probably the only social situation that doesn’t make me want to lock myself in a closet with a book and flashlight. When various imaginations collide over a battlemap? That’s my idea of an evening well spent.

I still write and independently published my first novel last autumn, hoping to get the next two in the series out by the end of 2012 (if the squid overlords don’t come first. It could happen). I also love to read comics (especially webcomics), sci-fi and horror in the vein of H.P Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard. As an indie creator I also dig trying to get other freelancers together to share their experiences and have a little social interaction. In addition, I am a big fan of GeekGirlCon and attended their first convention in Seattle last year. At this juncture in time I’m not participating in any campaigns but we might be relocating to be closer to our old gaming group. Yes, we love RPGs that much. My favorite systems are DnD (mostly because it has elves) and Feng Shui. Favorite card game is easily Gloom for the style of play, as well as the design. You can find me at @backthatelfup on Twitter or Back That Elf Up on the web.

I only ever wear that shirt in pictures.

Yes, I love elves. And cephalopods.

I look forward to being a part of this community!

 

2 thoughts on “Howdy! Elf Lover, Ahoy!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: