Jan 242012
 

Ivory Tooth of KostossLooking to spice up a game with a unique item? Behold: the Ivory Tooth of Kostoss!

The Tooth is a figurine, about three inches (eight centimeters) tall, carved from an enormous tooth. The tooth might better be called a fang, as its pointed shape clearly indicates.

Terrible rumors are whispered about the Tooth: that anyone who touches its point dies within a year, that it kills loved ones, and that it drives its owners insane.

Those who do touch it report–often with a nervous laugh–that they feel a little spaced out while holding it. It reminds them of…something.

Actually, the Tooth holds the spirit of a man who was unwise enough to double-cross a practitioner of magic. The man’s spirit is locked deep inside the Tooth, and initial contact will only result in a vague sense of distraction. Further uses of the Tooth result in the gradual ability to work oneself into fits of rage and power, as the trapped spirit is very unhappy about being trapped in the tooth, but knows no way of freeing himself.

D&D 3E, D&D 4E,
Pathfinder
The first three times an intelligent creature touches the Tooth, the creature’s next Athletics or Intimidate check or their next attack roll is at +1. The next two times the creature touches the Tooth, the creature receive an additional +1 on the above checks. After that, they gain the Possessed condition (see below) and use of the following power:Fit of Rage (daily, free): If the Tooth is within 20 squares, your next Athletics check, Intimidate check, or attack roll is made at +3.Possessed (condition): If a character attempts to get rid of the possessing item, the item makes a +15 attack roll against the character’s Will. If the attack succeeds, the character finds some way to keep the item.

Note that the Tooth is more than willing to possess multiple people.

FATE The first three times a person touches the Tooth, the person may re-roll their next die roll, as long as that die roll involves raw physical might or intimidation. The next two times a person touches the Tooth, they gain a +1 on the next die roll that involves combat, raw physical might, or intimidation. After that, they gain the aspect Possessed by the Tooth, and gain +1 on all die rolls that involve combat, raw physical might, or intimidation (even if they are not touching the Tooth at the time).However, if a character possessed by the Tooth tries to get rid of it, the character must succeed on a roll at a -2 penalty. If successful, the character gains a Fate Point.
Savage Worlds The first three times a person touches the Tooth, the person adds +1 to their next Intimidation roll, Strength-based roll, or attack roll. The next two times a person touches the Tooth, they gain a 1d4 on the next Intimidation roll, Strength-based roll, or attack roll. After that, they are considered to possess the Tooth, and gain +1d4 on all of the above die rolls (even if they are not touching the Tooth at the time), but gets the Possessed hindrance:Possessed (Hindrance) If a character possessed by the Tooth tries to get rid of it, the character must succeed on a Spirit roll at a -2 penalty. If successful, the character gains a Fate Point and gets rid of the Tooth.

About Brent Newhall

I'm a 21st Century Renaissance Man. I work at Amazon, I make and run RPGs, I write fantasy books (none published yet), and I'm a huge anime and manga fan. I wrote the OSR Handbook (a profile of many old-school tabletop RPG systems), the Original D&D retroclone Dungeon Raiders, a mecha RPG called Gunwave that tries to actually simulate mecha anime series, a kid-friendly animal RPG called Weasels!, and a tile-based board game called Zeppelins vs. Pterodactyls.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.